2018 Illustrator Grand Prize winner Kyna Tek and Writer Grand Prize winner Darci Stone

The Illustrators of the Future Contest

The Illustrators of the Future Contest was created in 1988 as a sister competition due to the immense success of Writers of the Future, a contest initiated by L. Ron Hubbard in 1983 as a means of providing a helping hand to aspiring writers.

The annual Contests draw entrants from around the globe and are free to enter. Winners retain full rights to their work, are given cash awards, and are published in the annual bestselling anthology, L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future. The grand prize illustrator winner receives the Golden Brush Award plus an additional $5,000.

The Contest flies out all the winners to Los Angeles for an expense-paid, week-long workshop given by Contest judges which culminates in a black-tie gala awards event.

For more information about the Contests:

For a list of the Contest judges:

To enter the Illustrators of the Future Contest:

To see the anthology by year:

Visit the blog for helpful articles on illustrating:

To join the Forum:

Sign up for the Writers & Illustrators of the Future Newsletter: